OPULION
Journal / GBL borrows another €500m: where does the private investment debt sit?

News · Groupe Bruxelles Lambert SA

GBL borrows another €500m: where does the private investment debt sit?

A 4% bond at the holding company and a separate acquisition financing plan for Recordati are two different layers of leverage.

GBL has placed a €500m bond even though its last published net debt-to-portfolio value ratio was 0%. There is no contradiction: the bond is borrowing issued in August, while the ratio describes the holding company's balance sheet at 30 June. A proposed acquisition of Recordati brings a second layer of financing in the transaction vehicles. Understanding both layers is more useful than treating the new bond as a direct payment for one deal.

New GBL bond
€500m at 4.00%
Placed 25 August 2026, matures 1 September 2034
Published holding LTV
0.0%
30 June 2026, before the August bond
Undrawn credit lines
€2.5bn
Published position at 30 June 2026
Financial papers on a table by a window in an editorial illustration of a European office.
AI-generated editorial illustration. It does not depict GBL's actual offices or a Recordati transaction meeting.

What our previous reporting covered

Our review of GBL's half-year results already explained more than €5bn of asset disposals, the arrival of former KKR executive Johannes Huth, and the shift toward controlling or co-controlling private businesses. Our Recordati article examined the offer price and shareholder resistance. We do not need to announce that strategy again. GBL had outlined the pivot before Huth took office in May 2025.

The additional question is which balance sheet supports which part of the change. Recordati, an Italian pharmaceuticals group selling specialty medicines and rare-disease treatments, is the proposed co-control investment alongside CVC. It illustrates how a listed investment company can use permanent capital and structured acquisition finance without making every borrowing the same obligation of its parent company.

Layer one: the bond is GBL's own debt

On 25 August 2026, GBL announced the successful placement of €500m of eight-year bonds paying 4.00%, scheduled to settle on 1 September. This was a placed issue, not an unused bank line. It follows a €500m ten-year issue at 3.75% in January, which our earlier analysis already covered.

Opulion calculation: the August bond has a €20m gross annual nominal coupon for a full year. The two 2026 issues together have €38.75m of gross annual nominal coupons. This is not the net change in GBL's interest bill or the net cost of its strategy: proceeds may earn interest, refinance other borrowings or be invested, and issuance expenses may apply.

GBL's press release and bond memorandum say the proceeds are for general corporate purposes, including refinancing existing debt. Neither allocates the €500m to Recordati. The timing fits a company preserving room to invest, but it does not prove that the bond funds that offer.

Zero holding LTV does not mean zero borrowing

At 30 June, GBL reported €2,088m of gross cash and €2,059m of gross debt, leaving €29m of net cash. Its published holding loan-to-value ratio, or net borrowing divided by portfolio value, was therefore 0.0%. Cash offset borrowing at that date. GBL also had €2.5bn in committed, undrawn bank facilities. A bank commitment is available capacity, not cash already received or debt already drawn. Its €4.588bn liquidity combined gross cash with those undrawn lines.

HELD

Holding company cash

€2.088bn

At 30 June, included in the net debt calculation.

BORROWED

Holding gross debt

€2.059bn

Bonds and other borrowing outstanding at 30 June.

AVAILABLE

Undrawn bank lines

€2.5bn

Committed capacity, neither drawn debt nor cash received.

ISSUED LATER

August bond

€500m

New borrowing on settlement; its ultimate use is not specified.

The September investor presentation explicitly keeps cash and LTV dated 30 June; only its maturity schedule is shown pro forma for the August bond. If issuing a bond initially adds the same amount to both debt and cash, net debt does not mechanically rise at the moment of settlement. Later purchases, buybacks, disposals, dividends, debt repayments and portfolio valuations can all change that position. Without an updated complete balance sheet, we cannot calculate an honest current LTV for 29 September.

Layer two: Recordati has an acquisition financing plan

The offer document filed with Consob sets out a full-acceptance scenario requiring €10.182bn for the shares still subject to the tender offer. The maximum funding plan comprises about €4.525bn of equity (44%), €4.128bn of bridge bank debt or a senior term loan (41%), and €1.530bn of PIK notes (15%). These are maximum planned resources for a conditional offer, not proof that all the debt has been drawn.

Funding the maximum Recordati tender payment
Offer document, section G.1.2. Full acceptance scenario, not amounts already borrowed.
Equity contributions
Up to €4.525bn
Bridge or senior term debt
Up to €4.128bn
PIK notes
Up to €1.530bn

Respighi HoldCo, above the tender vehicle, is the bank borrower. Respighi Investments, another company in the chain, would issue the PIK notes. PIK means interest may be added to principal instead of being paid immediately in cash. It preserves liquidity during ownership but enlarges the eventual repayment. Margins above Euribor are not disclosed in the offer document, so an all-in borrowing cost cannot be calculated.

GBL, meanwhile, expects up to approximately €1.3bn of equity investment in Recordati, part of which reflects shares already purchased. It would fund its investor entity's equity contribution. Under the full-acceptance scenario, that entity would hold about 27% of Respighi TopCo's equity with co-control rights, while CVC would hold more economic equity. This 27% is not GBL's direct percentage ownership of Recordati.

Opulion inference: this second layer is where the transaction most resembles a leveraged buyout. Debt can magnify the return on the equity invested if the company's cash generation and growth meet expectations. It magnifies losses if performance, borrowing costs or the eventual sale value disappoint. A low published LTV at GBL's holding company does not, on its own, describe all the economic risk embedded in a leveraged underlying asset. The offer must close, and actual drawings must be known, before a final transaction leverage figure is possible.

What matters to the GBL shareholder

GBL still differs from a traditional private equity fund: it invests its own listed permanent capital, has disposal proceeds and liquidity, and faces no fund-end date forcing a sale. Huth brings private equity experience, but one holding bond does not demonstrate an intention to run parent-company leverage at buyout levels.

The useful questions are now: how much of the August €500m will remain in cash, be invested or refinance debt; what will the holding's next reported LTV be; and what debt will actually remain in the Recordati acquisition chain if the offer completes? Value creation depends on returns after financing cost and on the risks taken at each level, not on the face amount of one bond.

Sources

Share this piece